Thoughts on Resurrection

For many of us, Easter raises anew the question, “What do we believe about the resurrection?”  That befuddling word “believe” again!  We’ve used that word so often in creedal or doctrinal statements that it’s easy to think of it as only having to do with some sort of mental activity–like we’re asserting the “facts”–asserting something that can be proven measurably.  Thankfully, this year, I’m more aware of other perspectives, i.e., “to believe” means “to trust” or “to be-love.”  My head doesn’t know what to do with “asserting the facts” when it comes to “resurrection”–but my heart knows exactly what to do when it comes to “trusting” the resurrection or to “be-loving” the resurrection.  I am overwhelmed with gratitude.  Death never has the last word.  Alleluia!  Christ is risen!

About aliceatgrace

I'm the Rector at Grace Episcopal Church in Hopkinsville, KY. When I came here in August, 2011, I discovered that we have a great asset that was being under-utilized, to say the least. We have a beautiful Chartres labyrinth that was dedicated four years ago, and I decided that I would do all I could to promote the use of it. It's now just post-Easter of 2012, and, about a month ago, it occurred to me that our labyrinth is a symbol of what the future of this church is intended to be. We are people on an ongoing spiritual journey together. We like to ask questions, and we don't always have to have the answers. We are confident that God is leading us into deeper relationships--both with God and with the world around us. We invite you to "come walk with us."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

