All “theologians”?

We are all “theologians.”  Actually that’s hyperbole–most of us are theologians.  That means that we think about God a lot, and some of us even study about God a lot.  Thousands and thousands of books have been written about the subject of God over the millenia, and maybe we’ve read some of them.  We also talk to God–in various ways–and we seem to think we know who we are talking to.  Our culture is permeated with God-talk.  But the thought comes to me–and I don’t think I’ve ever heard this expressed in so many words–“Is it possible that all of our individual physiology, all of our differing life experiences, and all of those things that we’ve heard or read or been taught, have blended together and given each of us our own  slightly unique “picture” of God?”  Wow, that would give us lots of room for misunderstanding.  Just thinking.

About aliceatgrace

I'm the Rector at Grace Episcopal Church in Hopkinsville, KY. When I came here in August, 2011, I discovered that we have a great asset that was being under-utilized, to say the least. We have a beautiful Chartres labyrinth that was dedicated four years ago, and I decided that I would do all I could to promote the use of it. It's now just post-Easter of 2012, and, about a month ago, it occurred to me that our labyrinth is a symbol of what the future of this church is intended to be. We are people on an ongoing spiritual journey together. We like to ask questions, and we don't always have to have the answers. We are confident that God is leading us into deeper relationships--both with God and with the world around us. We invite you to "come walk with us."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All “theologians”?

  1. Amanda Pirrung says:

    Absolutely! We all see God’s face, and at the same time, none of us do. Sometimes I play a brain game with myself, and take someone I love (spouse, father, sister, etc.), and try to see them (physically or figuratively) not through my own eyes but through someone else’s….it can be mind-boggling! It has to do not just with their role in my life, but with my perception of them, the traits that I notice, like, or dislike most about them, and so on. And yet, I know that I never see their true essence fully, just as they don’t see mine. We know God shows different aspects to different people in different situations…but is it possible those aspects are determined just as much by the viewer as by the subject??

Leave a Reply

